Halfway through it...BEST DAMNED BSG EPPY
Dec. 1st, 2006 10:43 pm...in a FRAKKIN' YEAR!
Seriously...as a writer...not as a shipper...let's go under the cut for the spoilers
This show SHOULD be about the relationships between the people. Not about geopolitics...not about religion...not about the CYLONS. I love the cylons...and I don't mind knowing a BIT more about them. But...they are the ENEMY...the driving force.
Over the last year...starting in season 2.5...Ron Moore and company have made this show so dark, so depressing, so uninspirational...that it became almost unwatchable. Tonight...it is riveting because it is about HUMAN emotion. And the emotion of people who LITERALLY are depending on each other for survival. Look at the light in the eyes of the actors...the vibrant emotions on their faces...THIS IS BSG!
Ron...I hope this signals you're finally...FINALLY getting the GIANT self-stimulating stick out of your ass. Because the ratings are so far in the toilet SciFi is moving the show to Sunday. And before you point to the critical acclaim please remember that the grand train of acclaim is usually about a year behind the COOL. Honestly, I don't know about the rest of the episode...maybe I will hate it. All that matters is that I'm interested in these people for the first time in a year. I would be willing to show THIS episode to someone and actually say "I'm a fan of this show...you should watch it, too."
And that means I might...I JUST MIGHT...keep watching.
Seriously...as a writer...not as a shipper...let's go under the cut for the spoilers
This show SHOULD be about the relationships between the people. Not about geopolitics...not about religion...not about the CYLONS. I love the cylons...and I don't mind knowing a BIT more about them. But...they are the ENEMY...the driving force.
Over the last year...starting in season 2.5...Ron Moore and company have made this show so dark, so depressing, so uninspirational...that it became almost unwatchable. Tonight...it is riveting because it is about HUMAN emotion. And the emotion of people who LITERALLY are depending on each other for survival. Look at the light in the eyes of the actors...the vibrant emotions on their faces...THIS IS BSG!
Ron...I hope this signals you're finally...FINALLY getting the GIANT self-stimulating stick out of your ass. Because the ratings are so far in the toilet SciFi is moving the show to Sunday. And before you point to the critical acclaim please remember that the grand train of acclaim is usually about a year behind the COOL. Honestly, I don't know about the rest of the episode...maybe I will hate it. All that matters is that I'm interested in these people for the first time in a year. I would be willing to show THIS episode to someone and actually say "I'm a fan of this show...you should watch it, too."
And that means I might...I JUST MIGHT...keep watching.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-12-02 03:03 am (UTC)Bunny!! You are out there!
Date: 2006-12-02 08:24 am (UTC)Jan didn't think they should let Starbuck fight the guys...but I said...oh, come on...it's no different than a welterweight taking on a light heavy weight...it all depends on the skill of the parties and I would say Kara is very skilled.
Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2006-12-02 03:09 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2006-12-02 03:16 am (UTC)In fact...I honestly think his version was emotionally strained and dramatically uneven. But...maybe I would have enjoyed it more if I hadn't been seeing it in my head for six months and having it be SOOO much better in my head.
Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2006-12-02 03:19 am (UTC)Lil is one of my beta babes...
Date: 2006-12-02 03:26 am (UTC)But I got hijacked by the Doctor/Rose ship and...really...never looked back at BSG. It is amazing I am still watching it, truly...because it went from being interesting for me to be really a trial to watch. And my prediction was...as it usually is...dead on about the ratings slide.
The hardcore internet fans...usually aren't a good indication of what works in a show.
Things like Billie being voted into the top 10 of the hot 100...IS a good sign that Rose might be back.
Rae
Re: Lil is one of my beta babes...
Date: 2006-12-02 03:32 am (UTC)Ah...good...I also work with media ratings
Date: 2006-12-02 03:50 am (UTC)You are right...exactly...Joss Whedon pandered to a vocal but clueless fanbase. And yes, thank God...RTD has more integrity than Joss Whedon. Though as my SO would say..."Thanks for that!"
Rae
damning RTD with faint praise...but kissing him and making it all better afterward...;-@ <<--smooch!
(no subject)
Date: 2006-12-02 09:59 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2006-12-02 10:32 pm (UTC)I'm still loving thes how, but I did notice a drop in the general quality. Season 2.5 was a disaster and Season 3 thus far has been really hit or miss. (Usually both in the same episode.)
I actually really enjoyed Unfinished Business. Didn't expect to because of Kara/Lee aspect of it sounded cheesy. But, thankfully they didn't dominate the entire episode. We got to see a little bit from everyone. Sharon and Helo. Dee and Lee. Kara and Sam. Gaeta, though his moments were more subtle. (God, I love Alessandro Juliani!) Adama and Roslin. The Tighs. Cheers everyone on.
However, I wasn't entirely happy with how the Lee and Kara bits played out. This is going to be an unpopular opinion, but Lee was acting like a complete tool in the flashbacks. So, I did cringe at the sex because Ron didn't write them with the right amount of sparkle for this episode. Also, the episode ending, I didn't think it was filmed or edited right. It had a sort of cheese quality to it.
(no subject)
Date: 2006-12-04 03:05 pm (UTC)I had halfway convinced myself that "the scene" we saw in the promos didn't actually happen. I figured if it was just a concussion dream it wouldn't be quite so bad. And then it turned out to be real. I have no complaints with the actual "activity". I felt that the build up and aftermath were underdeveloped. I was left with so many questions. Was this just a drunken tryst? What caused Kara's sudden change of heart? Where can I get Laura's outfit? I guess not answering those questions leaves room for development in future eppies but it's almost like they did it on purpose just to build up the angst again. I dont know how much my poor little heart can take.
I have to say I loved the ending. It was what I had been wanting for a while. Underneath it all they are friends. Friendship is what a sound relationship of any kind is built on. I'd like to see Ron really develop the friendship angle.
And side note-who didn't love Adama and Roslin in this ep. Gah, just so cute. And he was so very PopAdama!
And another side note-why can't Starbuck fight the boys? That's just silly. Althougth I would've loved to see Kara beat the stuffing out of Kat.
Final thought-I loved the music in that whole ep but the only song I could hear playing was Rob Thomas' "Fall on Me" ( I think is title). So perfect for whole show. Anybody want to make a vid? My birthday is next week.