Star Trek: Into Darkness...Spoilers
Jun. 7th, 2013 10:10 pmDoes this need a cut? Is there anyone who has held out longer than me...unspoiled? I don't know. But, I shall give it a cut anyway, because, while I feel all of my friends went to see it the first day...someone new might stumble on this journal and be spoiled.
KHHHHAAAAAANNNNN! Not only did I mention how obvious this was after the Super Bowl add... http://rabid1st.livejournal.com/383892.html#comments
...but...also, they reimagined that very scene I used to illuminate the choice. And, therein, lies the flaw of this film. It was ticking off some boxes and I sort of wish that it wasn't doing that. I thought the new crew looked silly in those scenes. Specifically like they were re-imagining an iconic moment. Which is what they were doing. It took me out of the scene to recognize it and see it done from another direction. On the other hand, the reboot on Khan was mostly well done. Even though I was expecting him, they almost fooled me into thinking Cumberbatch (Who my companion called Blunderbuss...which is hilarious) was playing someone else. Almost. But, as I said originally, you simply wouldn't cast Benedict to play anyone else.
So, I said HA! very loudly in the theater and my sister, who went with me, got irked. "Yeah, you told us so." she snarked, later. Perhaps I was crowing too much, because, as I said in the above link, most historic Star Trek watchers would be expecting him...especially after the Super Bowl ad. It is much like expecting the Valeyard to show up in DW. It won't be surprising if he does...because he is destined. And Khan is much the same. But, it is about time to stop ticking those boxes with New Trek. I want to see a few new adventures. I would have loved for Khan and Kirk to have worked together. And therein lies the second serious misstep of this series. They went the wrong way with Khan. Khan should have seen reason, rather than gone on a genocidal rampage. However, I did like that the main issue my S.O. had with the reboot has now been corrected. They appear to be behaving more civilized than current mankind. And I am glad that JJ Abrams got that memo.
Star Trek has always been a show about the best in mankind rising to the top. And a vengeful, reckless Kirk is not part of that ideal. Kirk was bold and a brilliant strategist, but he had a civilized, live and let live core attitude that was sorely lacking in the first film of this reboot. I was very happy to see him tempered a bit in this film. Growing up and becoming more of an explorer than a soldier. Daring, yes, dangerous in a fight, certainly, but also a man who did his best to save others.
Overall, this movie pleased me a lot. I wish Kirk and Khan had found a better truce. My feeling was that while the original Kirk and Khan got off on the wrong foot, they were a lot alike...and so I was happy to see them find some common ground in this one. But then Khan goes to mindless terrorist and I just wish he hadn't. I wanted Kirk and Khan to broker a peace with each other, and then the Klingons, pushed to it early by that mad Admiral. Though, a truce might have led to Khan and his kind growing too powerful again...especially if they had a foothold in the Klingon Empire...which would, frankly, suit them. And that might lead to Wrath of Khan again. So, perhaps that is why Abrams decided to find another solution than abandonment/isolation of Khan and his crew. And it was a peaceful solution, so I am satisfied. Also, Spock got to kick some ass. Always fun. Though chubby cheeked Spock did make me smile sometimes. I've never seen Zachary that chubby cheeked. I wonder if he had some allergic reaction to his ears.
Oh, and I shouldn't leave without giving mad props to Simon Pegg and whoever that is that plays Bones. They were both so spot on it was uncanny. Pegg's Scotty is the main reason I will get this movie for my very small DVD collection. He's amazing in this movie. He was pretty darned good in the first one. Pine is also much better in this one. He's become Kirk for me at last. So, the only one I don't like that much is Uhura. Though, I've always liked that actress. And I'm not against her romance with Spock. One of the many great moments in this movie was the moment when Uhura and Spock have their tiff and Kirk is wanting no part in it...then piles on...and then it all turns rather sweet. I loved the unexpected realism there that is intrinsic to THIS crew and, yet, reflective of the original series. To me, that's when the reboot shines, when it dares to do something new. No more "reimagining" of classic moments...please...because it isn't necessary.
KHHHHAAAAAANNNNN! Not only did I mention how obvious this was after the Super Bowl add... http://rabid1st.livejournal.com/383892.html#comments
...but...also, they reimagined that very scene I used to illuminate the choice. And, therein, lies the flaw of this film. It was ticking off some boxes and I sort of wish that it wasn't doing that. I thought the new crew looked silly in those scenes. Specifically like they were re-imagining an iconic moment. Which is what they were doing. It took me out of the scene to recognize it and see it done from another direction. On the other hand, the reboot on Khan was mostly well done. Even though I was expecting him, they almost fooled me into thinking Cumberbatch (Who my companion called Blunderbuss...which is hilarious) was playing someone else. Almost. But, as I said originally, you simply wouldn't cast Benedict to play anyone else.
So, I said HA! very loudly in the theater and my sister, who went with me, got irked. "Yeah, you told us so." she snarked, later. Perhaps I was crowing too much, because, as I said in the above link, most historic Star Trek watchers would be expecting him...especially after the Super Bowl ad. It is much like expecting the Valeyard to show up in DW. It won't be surprising if he does...because he is destined. And Khan is much the same. But, it is about time to stop ticking those boxes with New Trek. I want to see a few new adventures. I would have loved for Khan and Kirk to have worked together. And therein lies the second serious misstep of this series. They went the wrong way with Khan. Khan should have seen reason, rather than gone on a genocidal rampage. However, I did like that the main issue my S.O. had with the reboot has now been corrected. They appear to be behaving more civilized than current mankind. And I am glad that JJ Abrams got that memo.
Star Trek has always been a show about the best in mankind rising to the top. And a vengeful, reckless Kirk is not part of that ideal. Kirk was bold and a brilliant strategist, but he had a civilized, live and let live core attitude that was sorely lacking in the first film of this reboot. I was very happy to see him tempered a bit in this film. Growing up and becoming more of an explorer than a soldier. Daring, yes, dangerous in a fight, certainly, but also a man who did his best to save others.
Overall, this movie pleased me a lot. I wish Kirk and Khan had found a better truce. My feeling was that while the original Kirk and Khan got off on the wrong foot, they were a lot alike...and so I was happy to see them find some common ground in this one. But then Khan goes to mindless terrorist and I just wish he hadn't. I wanted Kirk and Khan to broker a peace with each other, and then the Klingons, pushed to it early by that mad Admiral. Though, a truce might have led to Khan and his kind growing too powerful again...especially if they had a foothold in the Klingon Empire...which would, frankly, suit them. And that might lead to Wrath of Khan again. So, perhaps that is why Abrams decided to find another solution than abandonment/isolation of Khan and his crew. And it was a peaceful solution, so I am satisfied. Also, Spock got to kick some ass. Always fun. Though chubby cheeked Spock did make me smile sometimes. I've never seen Zachary that chubby cheeked. I wonder if he had some allergic reaction to his ears.
Oh, and I shouldn't leave without giving mad props to Simon Pegg and whoever that is that plays Bones. They were both so spot on it was uncanny. Pegg's Scotty is the main reason I will get this movie for my very small DVD collection. He's amazing in this movie. He was pretty darned good in the first one. Pine is also much better in this one. He's become Kirk for me at last. So, the only one I don't like that much is Uhura. Though, I've always liked that actress. And I'm not against her romance with Spock. One of the many great moments in this movie was the moment when Uhura and Spock have their tiff and Kirk is wanting no part in it...then piles on...and then it all turns rather sweet. I loved the unexpected realism there that is intrinsic to THIS crew and, yet, reflective of the original series. To me, that's when the reboot shines, when it dares to do something new. No more "reimagining" of classic moments...please...because it isn't necessary.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 02:18 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 02:33 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 04:08 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 02:20 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 02:36 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 02:40 am (UTC)Too true!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 02:50 am (UTC)Also, despite unspoiled and never having seen the Super Bowl trailer (I boycott all-things Ravens, being a Steelers fan), I knew with 90% certainty that Benedict simply had to be Khan.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 08:29 pm (UTC)Anyway, I don't mind them playing with the Tropes...it is the lack of imagination in their play that irks me. I would have played out the Khan/Kirk alliance to the very end. It was over way too soon for me, especially when we have a Mad Admiral...and the idea of a Khan love interest right there in his daughter. This time she would be more of a warrior than McGivers was, standing by Khan in the fight against her father, but siding with the Enterprise crew. Khan could take her hostage in the end, to escape.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 03:38 am (UTC)The did early on almost fool me that it may not have to be Khan too, I thought a Section 31 related plot would be just the thing to really bring this reboot world into its own, and take us into darkness as the title promised. You could do so much with Section 31, and they almost took us there, but in the end...they played it safe and had them fight Khan.
I did more or less enjoy the movie, but the end really made me feel like the reboot world is...kind of lazy.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 08:19 pm (UTC)I feel if you are going to do a reboot, then you might want to really change up the series. Having Khan a reluctant ally was a good idea, but they didn't have the nerve to play it out to the end and make a great movie. Khan and Kirk working together each on a ship to save the Earth from destruction. That's a great idea. Let the Mad Admiral have true conviction. Let Khan and his daughter have their shot at romance as they try to figure out/reverse what Mad Admiral has done to the ship. Let daughter kill father...to save Khan and Earth, thereby cementing Khan's attraction to her. And finally, let Khan try to escape, much as he does, only to have Spock go after him to save Jim. Now...that's a movie.
So, it was more or less and enjoyable, but, yes, a kind of lazy movie.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 11:31 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-09 12:52 am (UTC)Rae
who is glad you like my uneasy alliance idea. I think it would have created a lot more tension and, thus, a better film.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 11:53 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-08 08:09 pm (UTC)I would rather he had played a longer and more intricate game with Kirk. So, no Old Spock...in my view. Or...Old Spock being more or less dismissed as not relevant to the new circumstances...and then either being vindicated by Khan turning...or...really being wrong about this reality. Basically, I would have set up the next movie...a Klingon war movie for sure...by having Khan and his people settle a planet in the Klingon neutral zone. Then, later, had a Khan/Kirk confrontation. Because Benedict could easily do two movies...and probably would if he had a juicy role to play.
So, basically, if they had let me look over this script. I would have pointed out that the Mad Admiral could have done everything Khan did...send the Enterprise crashing to earth, etc. Then Khan and Kirk could have infiltrated only to have the Mad Admiral set the ship to crash into Earth. Then, while Khan fights to save the big ship, Kirk rushes back to the Enterprise to try and save her. And we have the great scenes of two ships crashing to earth that we wanted...and Khan tries to escape...and Jim dies. Spock, instead of having the exact moment copied...learns from Khan (or maybe Bones) that Khan can save Jim...but Khan would rather save himself. Spock is in talks with Khan...when Khan cuts him off...and KHHHHAAAANNN! Spock goes after him like a mad man and brings him in unconscious. They decide to keep him that way. Or, they put him and his people ashore in the neutral zone, because Spock promises him that. So, Kirk and Khan part as adversarial friends.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-09 09:29 pm (UTC)So, yeah, still a few stragglers out here! Thanks for being considerate, not everyone is. I've had to avert my eyes from quite a few posts lately!
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-09 10:05 pm (UTC)And I'm sorry to hear about your Dad. Wish him a speedy recovery from me. Tell him the movie is good. :grin:
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-10 02:30 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-10 08:27 am (UTC)I think it was well done how we sympathized with Khan, even if I maybe overdid it at all, as that scene where he thought his whole crew was dead broke my heart :(
I loved the short segment of scenes where Khan and Kirk worked together. I'm glad they did not kill him off though. Would be nice to see him again.
I wish they'd do a HQ HBO-type TV-series next instead of another movie. With a movie every 4-5 years they'll never be able to tell the story properly before the actors get too old :(
(no subject)
Date: 2013-06-10 04:05 pm (UTC)You know, I had this exact thought when Kirk announced the "five year mission." I thought, well...that's about two movies and then Disney is recasting. And the thought of recasting this crew really bothers me. I don't think the PTB have figured out that while you can recast an OLD crew...it is harder to get us to like...say...a new Spiderman or Ironman.
As for Khan's attitude being linked to his fear of all his crew being dead. That could well be the case. I will look for that next time I watch. I, too, loved Khan and Kirk working together and I felt the Mad Admiral could have been expanded into a more threatening character, pushing for a Klingon war that we Next Generation fans might not want to see happen. And I really do feel Khan and his kind would fit in better with Klingon society than human...giving us more people like Worf in this universe and, perhaps, an impetus for the war.
Rae