rabid1st: (Default)
[personal profile] rabid1st
Spoilers! And grumbling, below the cut....

So, the Fifth Doctor is referenced via Tegan wanting to return to Heathrow and the always getting lost. Also, "Braveheart, Clara!" And there were reflections of the Fifth Doctor story, The Black Orchid in the Crimson Horror. The Victorian haunted house idea of someone deformed hidden away in the attic. When it comes to preserving specimens you could also include Ghostlight. I am wondering what became of Four and his reflection in all of this, because Journey to the Centre of the TARDIS didn't seem to have that many. But there was some reference to the secondary control room, which was used by Four. The episode was reportedly inspired by Moff's fascination with "The Invasion of Time" which is a Fourth Doctor story. And, of course, the Eye of Harmony is from a Fourth Doctor story, "The Deadly Assassins."

So, I suppose we should have more references to the Fifth Doctor in this episode but I have nothing else, so far. I suppose the symbiotic leech arrangement might reflect the Mara and Tegan. The shots of Clara on the computer are very much like the shots of the Doctor from Rose. And taking the children along on a trip is very much like Five again, because he had both Nyssa and Adric, as bickering sibling types. And Adric dies facing the Cybermen. So, I can see the connection there to the Doctor's past. And if there are clowns in the upcoming circus, we are sure to think of the Sixth Doctor.

As far as this story went, I didn't find too much to like or dislike in it. A non-companion gets kissed. Clara gets the kiss on her forehead. Again, he treats her more like a relative than ever. She could be Susan, of course, if Susan is capable of regeneration, I suppose. I do have the feeling that the Doctor has figured out something about her that he's not telling us...or her. But, I'm losing interest. Matt was less appealing to me in this one. Smug overacting abounds.

(no subject)

Date: 2013-05-07 12:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] susanb03.livejournal.com
This was definitely not one of the better ones....

(no subject)

Date: 2013-05-07 08:02 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yumimum.livejournal.com
I can honestly say I spent the first 20 minutes bored to tears, and then MS started using the accent and I went all giggly (It must be the Northern-ish thing IDK...) The rest of the ep was okay I suppose, not brilliant, but I didn't actively dislike until the end. That bit with the kids just made me really angry. I don't know, maybe it's just me over-reacting, but it was so disney channel it was almost insulting.

(no subject)

Date: 2013-05-07 05:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rabid1st.livejournal.com
Those kids are very Disney Channel aren't they? Proper little moppets.

And I did like the MS accent. It made me smile. But mostly I was bored to tears. Of course, the family connection with Diana Riggs was lost on me, as I didn't recognize her daughter. Reading about it after the fact, made me think...hmmm...another, albeit Meta, family connection. I suppose there was still family in the story though. Was there a family tree image in this one?

(no subject)

Date: 2013-05-07 05:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] yumimum.livejournal.com
Hmmm... not that I saw, but TBH my chinese was more interesting to me than this ep :P

There was a badger apparently... http://thepoliceboxismine.tumblr.com/post/49662837376/a-badger-in-doctor-who-the-crimson-horror-xd They've been known to damage a few trees in their time...

Profile

rabid1st: (Default)
rabid1st

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 45
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags