As some of you have heard before, I don't think the current Doctor is the REAL Doctor. I believe that Matt Smith's sudden change from manic unwatchable to suddenly somewhat tolerable isn't just caused by Matt and Moff waking up one day and thinking, "What have we done?" No, I think, that like Amy's childish personality in their first season, this change of personality is meaningful.
Basically, all of this dressing differently, changing the TARDIS theme, acting less like an irresponsible child is a sign that we are not dealing with the REAL Doctor. But instead we are dealing with, most likely, the FLESH Doctor. And Clara is the ideal companion, because she is the REAL Doctor's interface. Which would be brilliant as it would allow all of the "Doctor should be female" people a chance to have a pseudo-female Doctor. This will also fit in with the Anniversary as previous Doctors will be accessed as we work out the REAL Doctor's problem. And, also, it will address "Why the Doctor picks certain people to be his companions," which Moff said Clara would address.
Things to look out for now: Does the Doctor know anything he didn't know before the FLESH consumed him? How does Clara reflects past companions. Already, she was working at the Rose and Chalice in her ordinary guise. Rose being a pretty serious link to the past companions. I'm not sure about the chalice part there. And that would make the know her as a child thing not as annoying as it appears at first blush, because that would be a reference to Amy. Also, her River-like hopping in and out of time is like River. On the other hand, maybe I've just had a good idea here...and I hope Moff is going to do something similar, but I'm way off base. We will see. My fearless prediction has been made, at least.
Rae
Basically, all of this dressing differently, changing the TARDIS theme, acting less like an irresponsible child is a sign that we are not dealing with the REAL Doctor. But instead we are dealing with, most likely, the FLESH Doctor. And Clara is the ideal companion, because she is the REAL Doctor's interface. Which would be brilliant as it would allow all of the "Doctor should be female" people a chance to have a pseudo-female Doctor. This will also fit in with the Anniversary as previous Doctors will be accessed as we work out the REAL Doctor's problem. And, also, it will address "Why the Doctor picks certain people to be his companions," which Moff said Clara would address.
Things to look out for now: Does the Doctor know anything he didn't know before the FLESH consumed him? How does Clara reflects past companions. Already, she was working at the Rose and Chalice in her ordinary guise. Rose being a pretty serious link to the past companions. I'm not sure about the chalice part there. And that would make the know her as a child thing not as annoying as it appears at first blush, because that would be a reference to Amy. Also, her River-like hopping in and out of time is like River. On the other hand, maybe I've just had a good idea here...and I hope Moff is going to do something similar, but I'm way off base. We will see. My fearless prediction has been made, at least.
Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2013-03-30 04:54 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-03-30 07:10 pm (UTC)I would say most definitely. Moff repeats himself constantly. He would just think that nobody would guess the Flesh Doctor because they already did Amy and a Robot Doctor. But...there is definitely something wrong with the Doctor, I'm betting, because I can't see Moff deciding his Doctor should be more sedate.
Rae
who also likes Clara almost too much to have her in Moff's clumsy hands. And, who, doesn't particularly like her fast talking similarity to Matt's Doctor, but feels she does it better than him...by which, I mean, it sounds more like SHE thought up those words rather than having them written for her on a script.
(no subject)
Date: 2013-03-30 09:50 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-03-30 07:11 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2013-03-31 03:39 am (UTC)Moffat said there will be a "love triangle" between the three, but "with a twist."
(no subject)
Date: 2013-03-31 04:14 am (UTC)And, I am with you on dreading what he will do to Ten/Rose in the anniversary episode. Just when I think I'm free of my OTP, they pull me back in. :wink:
Seriously, A love triangle!!!???
Date: 2013-03-31 04:50 am (UTC)I would love to have your idea be right because that would mean I could assume none of season 6 was canon because it was not the real Doctor. I tend to just assume that Moffat is so bad at character that he has not even noticed the Doctor changing behavior, and the toned down playing is on the part of Matt Smith. He might actually be a good enough actor to be fixing his performance.
Re: Seriously, A love triangle!!!???
Date: 2013-03-31 06:07 am (UTC)This is the thing, all I remember when I started the Rose/Doctor discussions back in the day was how icky it was to even consider a romance. In addition, Moff himself put Rose down for being too "clingy" which is HELLO? exactly what River is. Rose would say things like, "I thought you and I were...I guess I got that bit wrong." And she was blasted and mocked by all those people who didn't want her to be special to him. But their love was a pure love of spirit and hardly ever explicitly stated.
Compare that to River who is up in our face with the sexual innuendo and all of the out-right "I'm your favorite person in the universe" comments every time they meet. Rose never called him "Sweetie." And wouldn't. Like Ten said, "Does it need saying?" And no...it doesn't. But Moff would, of course, disagree. Judging by River it needs saying every five minutes.
And yes, if Clara is River and the Doctor's Daughter...or...the Doctor's Daughter from the episode of the same name...or even Rose and Ten's daughter...I am already grossed out by that kiss in the Christmas episode. And I don't want to hear a word about any twisted love triangles. *shudder*