Just stopping by to say...
Jul. 9th, 2012 01:58 am...I feel Andrew Buchan should be the next Doctor.
For those of you who do not know him from Garrow's Law or The Fixer...here is a link to his IMDB photos... http://www.imdb.com/media/rm2388442368/nm2217601
He has vigor and gravitas. He is different as night to day from David Tennant and Matt Smith, something he felt should keep him from the role when asked about it in 2009. I disagree with him on that score. The Doctor should actually CHANGE as we all knew when David replaced Chris Eccleston. Buchan is young enough to dash about and old enough to carry a threat in his softest tone of voice. It is time for the new generation of Who fans to learn that the Doctor need not caper. Doctor Who desperately needs someone to lend it a serious weight once again. I believe the former William Garrow could do that. It should be mentioned that, in addition to his acting talents, he is capable of carrying off a ridiculous hat. What more could we want in a Doctor?
He starred opposite Matt Smith in Party Animals and was somehow overlooked. He will be starring along side David Tennant in Broadchurch, which means there will be ample opportunity to be seen by the proper authorities. Let them make it so.
For those of you who do not know him from Garrow's Law or The Fixer...here is a link to his IMDB photos... http://www.imdb.com/media/rm2388442368/nm2217601
He has vigor and gravitas. He is different as night to day from David Tennant and Matt Smith, something he felt should keep him from the role when asked about it in 2009. I disagree with him on that score. The Doctor should actually CHANGE as we all knew when David replaced Chris Eccleston. Buchan is young enough to dash about and old enough to carry a threat in his softest tone of voice. It is time for the new generation of Who fans to learn that the Doctor need not caper. Doctor Who desperately needs someone to lend it a serious weight once again. I believe the former William Garrow could do that. It should be mentioned that, in addition to his acting talents, he is capable of carrying off a ridiculous hat. What more could we want in a Doctor?
He starred opposite Matt Smith in Party Animals and was somehow overlooked. He will be starring along side David Tennant in Broadchurch, which means there will be ample opportunity to be seen by the proper authorities. Let them make it so.
(no subject)
Date: 2012-07-09 08:23 am (UTC)Strangely, I've never seen him in anything. I must do something about that.
For one glorious moment, when your post came up first on my Friends Page, I thought MS had announced his departure. It's strange, I've never warmed to him or his version of the Doctor. I can see clearly on an intellectual level why it works and it's been good for the long-term future of the show. But I only have to look at a picture of Ten and it all comes flooding back. It's just not the same.
(Off to my graduation tomorrow, with a picture of DT in my pocket, right next to my heart)
(no subject)
Date: 2012-07-09 02:36 pm (UTC)No doubt it is a psychological failing on my part. It pains me to think of myself as prejudiced against gibbering parodies of humanity. It means I might have a streak of the biased primate in me still, that I am so averse to the over-the-big-top appeal of the clown. And I agree with you, that the MS interpretation was a legitimate area for Doctor Who to have explored, and perhaps good for the long term future of the show. Still, I can't help but hope for the day Matt and Moff are both gone and I can once again watch Doctor Who without wincing.
And congrats on the graduation. DT will be thrilled to tag along and would, I'm sure, be as proud of you as we all are.
(no subject)
Date: 2012-07-09 02:56 pm (UTC)Something like this...without the dreadlocks of course...
http://fc05.deviantart.net/fs48/f/2009/235/e/9/Steampunk_Gentleman_3_by_saffrongraphics.jpg
...and Andrew would do nicely for that.
(no subject)
Date: 2012-07-09 03:54 pm (UTC)http://draculaclothing.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/03/catwalk4.jpg
(no subject)
Date: 2012-07-09 10:11 am (UTC)That said, Andrew Buchan is a good actor, and has pretty eyes.
(no subject)
Date: 2012-07-09 02:52 pm (UTC)As I've mentioned before I'm all about a Steampunk version of the Doctor. And I think Andrew would do nicely in that look... http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/61BJy88acIL.jpg