The Doctor Who Movie Has A Green Light
Nov. 14th, 2011 11:38 pmAnd the director of choice has already raised my hackles by claiming that he is going to cast aside the television show. Yeah! Right, Buddy! Learn nothing from the failed movies of the past! That's the way to make your mark. Yes, I know, the guy has chops from Harry Potter. But Doctor Who fans make Harry Potter fans look sane! Really, we do! This is flying without a broom, man! This is time and space, uncharted and, yet, completely familiar territory.
I do agree with the points in this article...
http://www.ifc.com/news/2011/11/doctor-who-movie-david-yates-advice.php
While I am a DT fan, I do agree that we might want to create Doctor 12 as a film star. But I am worried about any director that approaches this project with self-indulgent arrogance. You can start over with DW, of course, you can go back to the beginning and play with the origin story. Or you can go alternative time line off of all of this crap that Moff is doing. Or you can, most sensibly, just make Doctor 12 a film-only Doctor. But I pity the fool who tries to make Film Canon Doctor Who with a new mythology in this economy.
I do agree with the points in this article...
http://www.ifc.com/news/2011/11/doctor-who-movie-david-yates-advice.php
While I am a DT fan, I do agree that we might want to create Doctor 12 as a film star. But I am worried about any director that approaches this project with self-indulgent arrogance. You can start over with DW, of course, you can go back to the beginning and play with the origin story. Or you can go alternative time line off of all of this crap that Moff is doing. Or you can, most sensibly, just make Doctor 12 a film-only Doctor. But I pity the fool who tries to make Film Canon Doctor Who with a new mythology in this economy.
(no subject)
Date: 2011-11-15 10:37 am (UTC)I actually think a complete disassociation from the present series would be a good thing. Don't want SM anywhere near it. Or Smith.
(no subject)
Date: 2011-11-15 05:27 pm (UTC)Personally, I'm rebooting it if I ever get Wild Geese 2 finished. So, I can't really disagree with the idea of a reboot. However, I think the lack of respect shown for history is a bad sign from a new director. Hubris, if you will. I think it shows he isn't aware of the honor given to him. And that means he could well screw it up royally. Hubris in a someone taking on a franchise isn't a good sign in my experience. Moff would be a good example of that experience.
(no subject)
Date: 2011-11-16 06:07 pm (UTC)Look at the credits? Besides the Potter movies there's nothing really worth mentioning.
He seems to be a by the book guy.
Therefore I'm not happy.
(no subject)
Date: 2011-11-16 06:21 pm (UTC)