rabid1st: (Default)
[personal profile] rabid1st
Okay, I freely admit that my boycott of Fox has caused me to miss a few things. Like...uhm...House, M.D.

I fully intend to catch up to this past season, over the summer. But as it stands, I'm behind. And so, I am only sort of skimming my House/Wilson forum. Still...still...I thought I might have heard the news about next season before finding out in TVGuide. I mean, TVGuide is so...1980!

We are all webified now. Though, I've had to start buying TVGuide again since Yahoo stopped doing television schedules. I really hate those cut-rate schedules that tell you nothing at all about what's really on the TV.

8-9 CSI (repeat), 9-10 Original Programing, 10-12 Movie, etc. I could have told THEM that.

Anyway, behind this cut for the S8 House spoiler that surprised me tonight

Cuddy isn't coming back next season. Now, I'm not one of those House/Wilson shippers who hates Cuddy. And I do think that there was something she could do next season on the show. Basically, reestablish her position as hard-ass in charge. I never really thought of Cuddy as House's main UST squeeze. To me, that's Wilson. And Cuddy is the person who nags, cajoles and hounds House to keep him from self-destructing.

I didn't think I would mind her as a romantic interest when the PTB's first broached the idea. But, as it turned out, I did mind it. My vision of Cuddy and House just wasn't served by the whole set up of their doomed from the outset romance. Cuddy and House trying to have "true love" pretty much ruined both of their characters for me. Not because I think romance is bad or House is hopeless, but because both characters were forced so far out of character that it wasn't remotely entertaining. It was like bad fanfic and it left me aghast. Sure, true love does bring out the sap in all of us. Lord knows, I'm a hopeful romantic. But House is House because he defies his humanity and Cuddy used to realize that. I don't buy that they would both forget who they were. And here we have one of the main reasons I've been a House/Wilson shipper since the start...Wilson and House have a genuine relationship on the show. From time to time Wilson is appalled by House, but mostly he knows him well and mostly House will rise to the occasion and be the man Wilson expects him to be. That's the core of a good relationship.

Maybe there's a chance now that they will have something deeper and warmer than ordinary friendship...just like John and Sherlock. :grin: Though I kind of think House is heading for a tragic end. Still, it would be nice to think of him out there somewhere after the show goes off the air. I hope the PTB's remember that it was a mistake to kill of Sherlock Holmes. It will be a mistake with House, too. He should maybe go to prison or lose his license or retire to a small town in Wisconsin...with Wilson...but I think he should definitely go on beyond the series finale. David Shore and company may disagree and I certainly can't say that a tragic end would be wrong for this show. It would be very fitting for House to be unable to save himself after so many last minutes Hail Mary diagnoses or something. It would be a true and proper ending for him to go out on a dead eyed glassy fade, but I want him to go out cocky.

(no subject)

Date: 2011-05-28 10:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] phdelicious.livejournal.com
I freely admit to ceasing to watch House regularly right about the time of the Ducklings 2.0, so I'm out of the loop mostly, but have been checking out info on this season's finale for the trainwreck value. And honestly, looking at it, I hope they end the show soon and in some ridiculously tragic way that involves House dying because I really can't see where else they can go with the character.

Profile

rabid1st: (Default)
rabid1st

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 45
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags