rabid1st: (Default)
[personal profile] rabid1st
Let this be a lesson to you all.

I was chatting to LJ user Keswindhover about the upcoming Kentucky Derby. Those who remember the last few years, might recall that poor Kes lost a bit of money following my horse-tips, at first. This year, she was very sensible and toddled off to sleep (she lives in foreign lands) about 20 minutes before the race. She did not listen to me when I told her that I would put my little all on Mucho Macho Man across the board.

She also didn't take me seriously, when I said that, knowing nothing at all about racing form in the field this year, I would pick Animal Kingdom to win, because he was in the best condition of all the horses, muscled on to win on this particular day.

This means, basically, Kes will be well rested, but will NOT be much, much richer tomorrow. As Animal Kingdom came in for the win and paid 43.80 on 2 dollars. Also, Mucho Macho Man finished third and paid 7-2 for that.

Oh, well, if Kes had listened to me, I probably would have been wrong. I crack under pressure if I have real money to put down on the races. But when I don't...I can pick a horse cold and finish in the money 5 times out of 8...which is pretty darn good picking. :grin:

Take a look at the condition of this horse though...this should be him in the foreground for a time...

http://www.kentuckyderby.com/

Rae

(no subject)

Date: 2011-05-08 03:12 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rednekkid.livejournal.com
I picked Nehro for the stupidest reason in the world, and he finished second. Thought for a moment he was going to be the kicker until Animal Kingdom ran away with it all.

There's almost nothing like the build up to the Derby. I managed to not hear anything about it until I got home to watch it on my DVR.

(no subject)

Date: 2011-05-08 03:42 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rabid1st.livejournal.com
Whoa! Good job with Nehro. I didn't see that one coming. I really hate that so many of these horses are so lightly raced that you really could pick a name out for any reason and have a shot at the winner. But, I also liked that Animal Kingdom really did show some great conditioning and so I feel there is some chance to pick a winner on form.

Glad you got through the day without spoilers.

(no subject)

Date: 2011-05-08 12:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] keswindhover.livejournal.com
Yes, go ahead and gloat, why don't you?

(no subject)

Date: 2011-05-08 02:56 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rabid1st.livejournal.com
Hey, there, Sleepyhead!

Sorry, about the gloating. I really do wish I could make your rich. But did you click on that link and take a look at that horse's abs. He has an eight-pack. Talk about fine conditioning! Boo-yah!

Rae

Profile

rabid1st: (Default)
rabid1st

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 45
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags