rabid1st: (Default)
[personal profile] rabid1st
The David Tennant Treat 4 Today was a clip of David discussing the End of Time and teasing us about how it would be so emotionally satisfying. And I remembered, watching it again, how excited I was the first time I saw it. How, David absolutely convinced me that End of Time would really be the culmination of the story they had been telling for 4 years. In other words...the Doctor/Rose love story would finally put to an end and we would have some changes for the better with the character.

As you all know, I saw that as bittersweet. Rose would be dead and buried and the Doctor would go on alone...joy and pain and loss and continuing onward with the new man, as we lost David Tennant. And instead...we got such a load of whiny, pointless crap.

Now, watching David talk about it, I can't help thinking he must have been completely delusional as he gave that interview. Both he and Russell must have been completely lost to the level of disappointment they would engender in their audience with that overblown nonsense. Nothing actually happens in End of Time...the Time Lords don't return. Donna isn't saved. Rose and Ten are still parted. Ten is still a miserable sod.

They filmed it thinking to themselves...oh, this is grand...oh, the children are going to be crying and sad to see him go...and excited to see the next Doctor. But really? REALLY...? Did they honestly believe that we spent 4 years living and breathing David's emo Doctor only to watch him whimper off into an explosive regeneration saying, "I don't want to go" or throwing a tantrum over his loss and then moping around through a protracted tour of all his friends lives? It is beyond me how anyone could think that was a good idea for an end to their run, let alone imagine it would stir anyone to an emotion beyond throwing their shoe at the screen. It was completely forgettable in the context of the series, once you move beyond the sad waste of it all and no more Tennant.

SIGH!

(no subject)

Date: 2010-09-30 12:54 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] beadattitude.livejournal.com
I believe it was called the End of Time, because that's what it felt like watching it. The Endless Whinging.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-09-30 03:39 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maniacalshen.livejournal.com
I can't adequately describe the amount of wtfing I did over everything JE to End of Time. I still can't really talk about it without seeming like a crazy person. When people ask if I'd recommend Doctor Who for watching, I sell the first two or four seasons enthusiastically but say that the end of the fourth, "...upset me." Because I can't elaborate past that without seeming insane. XD

(no subject)

Date: 2010-09-30 03:55 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rabid1st.livejournal.com
I am sure that I could seem insane to people...but it was just so very bad. I can't even wrap my head around it. And if you are in the camp that was all "Oh, Rose is awful and we hate RTD" then you think it is because I love Rose...but really...I wanted to be finished with Rose. Currently, we are not done with her...currently, well...River is the person he trusts most in THIS universe...only because Rose is in another one. Rose is still his girl. Maybe that's what David and RTD wanted...but it sucks for the viewers because it is still not finished for us. And we have to finish it in fanfiction...even the Ten 2 people are finishing it in fanfic. Because there is no way they got a good ending there...she runs after her man.

And her man is so unhappy at the end...so "making do" with his horrible, lonely life. It is sad and stupid really. And I do think it is the core of why people aren't watching anymore.

Rae

(no subject)

Date: 2010-09-30 10:27 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] maniacalshen.livejournal.com
Yeah, what the hell kind of kids' show is that, anyway? All I learned from David's last year of Who is that life sucks, and everyone dies alone.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-09-30 05:14 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] asahifirsa.livejournal.com
I know what you mean... for me it was like grabbing for straws. I took what I got, which was basically that one scene from 2005...not much considering.

Profile

rabid1st: (Default)
rabid1st

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 45
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags