rabid1st: (Default)
[personal profile] rabid1st
Marti Noxon is the writer.

That should be all that I need to say to Buffy fans. But for those of you who have been spared Marti Noxon screwing up your show as she tries to show "true issues." Let me just post a little bit of her interview at Comic Con for you.

So in terms of subtext, it's more concerned with the phenomenon of the vampire as sex symbol?

One of the things we did – that was in the original movie but we mined it more – was really about the relationship between Ed and Charlie. We were interested in what happens when you leave your friends behind. A lot of the movie now has a focus on "What does it mean to be a real man?" There's a lot of stuff in it with more of a focus on masculinity and what it means to be a man.

She also, big surprise, wants to focus on the vampire as a predator. Of course, in context that might not be such a bad idea. Certainly, I would agree that we have been glutted with romantic vampires in recent fiction. But Marti Noxon is preachy and heavy-handed as Hell and there's no getting around it. She could very easily reimagine this remake to be as funny as a root canal.

Rae

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-22 03:05 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wickedgillie.livejournal.com
Marti surprisingly hasn't been bugging me with Mad Men, but then again, it's a totally different can of worms.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-22 03:11 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] rabid1st.livejournal.com
I don't watch Mad Men. I did think it was possible she had matured as a writer in the past few years, while doing other things. Of course, isn't Mad Men sort of coming from a grim reality place already? Maybe I have it all wrong, based on the few clips I've seen.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-07-22 03:24 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wickedgillie.livejournal.com
I didn't think I would, but I've become a huge Mad Men fan. There is a grim reality to it, but there's also a tongue-in-cheek quality and outright humour at times, too. I can only think of one episode that she was the main writer on, but I do think she's found balance and matured. Or maybe, this is just a better genre for her.

Time will tell if her story treatment for Fright Night sucks monkey balls or not.

Profile

rabid1st: (Default)
rabid1st

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 45
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags