So You Think You Can Dance--All Stars
Jun. 16th, 2010 10:07 pmWell, the All-Star season kicks off for real tonight. I have a few comments under this cut.
As feared, the All-Star dancers overshadowed the amatuer dancers. Of course, it wasn't as horrid as Dancing with the Stars or anything. But there were a few seriously awkward moments. Jose danced with Comfort. I had to write that down, because I kept forgetting his name. Comfort was amazing. I always liked her, but she has really come into her own as a professional. She killed. Jose, unfortunately. Also, dying on the vine were pretty much everyone else.
The dancers who held their own, for me, were Lauren, Kent and Robert. Robert is the only one who I can honestly say held my attention far more than his partner. Of course, I've never been a huge fan of Courtney. But, still, I thought Robert was amazing...cute, handsome and talented. What more could we ask for from a dancer? Kent surprised me. I expected something more along the lines of what we had from Melinda from him. Melinda did really disappoint but so did a lot of other people. Jose was a non-starter. So was Billy and Adachicki. Though both of them were technically sound. Lauren was technically amazing...which moved her up from the basement that her vacant smile put her into for me. It is hard to deny that she is an amazing dancer.
But my vote is going to Kent and Robert.
Rae
As feared, the All-Star dancers overshadowed the amatuer dancers. Of course, it wasn't as horrid as Dancing with the Stars or anything. But there were a few seriously awkward moments. Jose danced with Comfort. I had to write that down, because I kept forgetting his name. Comfort was amazing. I always liked her, but she has really come into her own as a professional. She killed. Jose, unfortunately. Also, dying on the vine were pretty much everyone else.
The dancers who held their own, for me, were Lauren, Kent and Robert. Robert is the only one who I can honestly say held my attention far more than his partner. Of course, I've never been a huge fan of Courtney. But, still, I thought Robert was amazing...cute, handsome and talented. What more could we ask for from a dancer? Kent surprised me. I expected something more along the lines of what we had from Melinda from him. Melinda did really disappoint but so did a lot of other people. Jose was a non-starter. So was Billy and Adachicki. Though both of them were technically sound. Lauren was technically amazing...which moved her up from the basement that her vacant smile put her into for me. It is hard to deny that she is an amazing dancer.
But my vote is going to Kent and Robert.
Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2010-06-17 03:26 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2010-06-17 05:03 am (UTC)So You Think You Can Dance 2010
Date: 2010-06-17 02:33 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2010-06-17 03:44 pm (UTC)I realize the show was trying to avoid another nightmare like Nathan/Mollee's tango but I actually think Pasha/Melinda's jive was worse. Pasha was so good, so perfect and Melinda was an ugly mess. If she had been dancing with another contestant it would not have been so bad. It actually hurt her to be dancing with Pasha. At first, I thought Pasha should tone it down and then I thought but how is he supposed to do that? We can't really ask him to dance crappy and with bad form just to show off the contestant, so in the end the contestants are just screwed.
Another problem is the natural tendency to focus on the dancers we know and like. I couldn't even tell you what girl was dancing with Mark.
I liked Lauren as well and liked that routine actually. I found her vacant smile kind of suited the cheesy 80's style Mandy Moore is always pushing. And Robert was fabulous as well though I want to see him in something outside his wheelhouse, which will be hards since there are only 2 allstars he can choose outside his wheelhouse.
I didn't favour Kent myself. I think he is too much - his shtick is already old. Anya did him so many favours. All I could see is how she was doing all the work and he was just making sure he didn't trip her or hit her in the head with his flailing arms. At one point she was literally turning herself while he stood there and it looked so bizarre.
Jose, like you said, was pretty awful and most everyone else forgettable.