rabid1st: (Default)
[personal profile] rabid1st
Sorry to disappoint if you are expecting anything fancy in the way of a recap of the episode as I am not up for that sort of thing...but I do have a few comments.

First, once again we go back in time to visit the Winchester family and we really have nothing new to add. Oh, wait...we do have one thing...this time Sam is along for the ride. Every other family hour has been all about Dean and his issues. For once, Sammy gets some emo bonding time with dad and mom. Of course, I wanted to slap Sam upside his puppy-dog-eyed face when he was mooning over his mother. But then I remembered that Sam never even had a chance to see much of mom...so I forgave him for giving away the whole game there with the schmoopy faces.

Second, Angels again. And poor Cas had very little to do in this episode. I imagine Misha is mighty happy he's a contract player this year as it would suck to fly up to Vancouver only to be left comatose and off camera for the episode. We continue to winnow down the auxillary players by offing Anna. I sort of liked her. But then I liked Jo and Ellen, too.

There was the usual pandering to the Wincest crowd with a few remarks, but I don't feel anyone is really trying anymore. And that's the rub of this entire episode...it feels like filler. It feels like they are stalling the apocalypse and have been stalling all season long. On the other hand, that was a magnificent turn by whomever it is that plays Young John...as Michael. He was just shy of crazy which is how I like my archangels portrayed. I had figured the only way out of the angel trap was adding in another angel...I was just imagining it would be Cas. So, that was a bit surprising. And while I am on the subject of Young John...I must give kudos to Supernatural casting for the wonderful job they do with selecting actors to play the younger Winchesters.

I love Young Sam and the Teenage Dean from that one set in high school. And while I didn't like Young John the last time out...this time...I thought he had John Winchester nailed. I had to keep reminding myself that there was no such thing as time travel and this was not, therefore, a younger version of the same actor that played older John. And may I say...Young John is my idea of hot, as well? I just said it. You can keep the beefy Jared and even Jensen is really getting the Captain Kirk barrel-chested syndrome...but Young John is hot. Okay, okay...Jared and Jensen are also beautiful specimens.

Where was I? Oh, wondering about the end game looming on the horizon. The game I believe we just left in the middle of the kitchen table once Kirke knew he had to write like...20 more episodes instead of the 2 he had planned on writing to wrap up this apocalypse story. The last few episodes have been decent enough in my opinion. They've certainly been better than the first half of the season with all the meta episodes. But I keep cringing every time I hear that the show is going to go to 6 seasons. Let me remind you, Mr. Kripke, of what dragging out NO STORY for a year did for Doctor Who recently. Yeah! It's not pretty.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-02-05 10:58 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hoegh.livejournal.com
OMG Jensen Ackles = William Shatner FTW!

(no subject)

Date: 2010-02-10 05:19 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] audrey1nd.livejournal.com
I actually really loved Michael's speech and how it kind of went back to the core of the show, which is brothers! And it also recalled back to season two with the whole, "dad told me I have to kill you" thing. So I'm kind of looking forward to see how it will end, but at the same time, I think you're right about there ending up being a lot of filler. However, that's just the usual fotw plotline from seasons one and two and that was enjoyable enough, wasn't it?

Profile

rabid1st: (Default)
rabid1st

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 45
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags