rabid1st: (Default)
[personal profile] rabid1st
First, let me say that it's not ME complaining this time. It's an IGN reviewer with whom I just happen to agree. :grin:

Spoilers under this cut for tonight's Supernatural Episode and the four Doctor Who Specials.

In a review for the final specials, they had this to say...

The final episodes vary in terms of quality, with the 19th Century-set "The Next Doctor" providing the most fun and solid narrative, while the final "End of Time" two-parter plays out like writer/showrunner Russell T. Davies couldn't quite figure out how to give Tennant's Doctor the proper send-off.

The climatic showdown incorporating these two storylines feels forced and uneven, almost as if Davies' reach exceeded his often competent grasp. We spend too much screentime with The Master literally shaking his head violently back and forth as he becomes, well, everyone in the world. And the special effect of The Master's X-ray skull looks like something from a SEGA arcade game – worse, there really isn't a payoff to it.


They go on to praise the final ten minutes, but suggest that the only reason that we might want to watch that is to admire David Tennant's acting. I agree with that part of the assessment. I do not agree that it was well written, of course. As you know...I think it was the most appalling drivel I've ever witnessed...and I've seen Disney films, my friends. I've SEEN Disney films.

Second, Supernatural, I know that I used to do the play-by-play for SPN, but I am a bit tired in general for those, as it turns out. Also...let's face it...SPN has been less than stellar this season. Amazingly, that wasn't why I checked out of the writing though...it was truly the pain in my hands and my exhaustion...because I did stop reporting on a what is my favorite episode this season, Changing Channels

As for the rest of the season...I liked The End and I liked the first episode...whatever it was called...and I liked last week's episode, Sam, Interrupted but mostly I think this season has been filler and crap. That said, tonight's episode was a little above average. I liked that the show seems to be mixing in a little funny with each episode lately, rather than trying to be as broad as say...the one where they go to a Supernatural convention (I thought that was incredibly lame...not the least little bit clever...and worse, they didn't seem to see how lame it was...it was like Andrew being the one who survives instead of Jonathan...not as funny as JW & Co. thought it was).

But this episode had some very interesting exchanges. Sam out of his body means Lucifer can walk in, but he still has to ask. I genuinely liked the kid and felt that his over-the-topness wasn't THAT over the top. I enjoyed Dean not getting a clue in a really believable way. He does figure it out but for a bit he just figures Sam is being moody or something. And I was genuinely surprised by the coven...and felt I shouldn't have been surprised...which is even better. When the kid aimed the gun at Dean I was sort of wondering if he would shoot it...since it probably contained a salt round. I think it would have been better if the gun had fired at Dean as the ghost attacked the kid, just so he could get the idea of salt rounds. I also would have liked the ghost to come back as it didn't look like anyone salted those bones...but...that's all quibbling and the second idea would have slowed the plot. I do wonder why the demon didn't kill Sam while he was out of his body...but maybe she didn't want to risk reversing the spell before the boss arrived.

Anyway, good use of nerds this time...still a bit broad in the brush strokes but not nearly as offensive as some of the other attempts the show has made. And a great job giving us some believable insight into Dean's thought processes without banging us over the head with his shortcomings.

(no subject)

Date: 2010-01-30 05:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] hoegh.livejournal.com
Hm, I must say I didn't care a lot for this Supernatural episode. I'm not sure why... It just seemed very random and not funny when it was supposed to be. Plus of course I hate that one plot arc they seem to be driving this season, that Dean really really doesn't trust/know Sam anymore.

I loved one detail, though, which I'm surprised you didn't mention! Nerd boy Gary ordering the drink The Doctor invented! Of course I don't know how popular Banana Daquiris are in general, or if there was some other obscure metaphor linked to them, before they occurred in Doctor Who... But I like to think it was a nod to The Doctor - Gary would totally be a fan.

Profile

rabid1st: (Default)
rabid1st

April 2025

S M T W T F S
  1 2 3 45
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags