RTD = Deceptively Playful
Jul. 20th, 2009 12:42 pmHaving a brief exchange with a buddy of mine on YIM about her computer headaches...I relate them to my own...and a recent rant.
rabid1st: yeah...microsoft is evil
rabid1st: ...like Russell
rabid1st: Actually, you've met him...he doesn't seem evil, does he?
rabid1st: He always strikes me as lovable
rabid1st: Even when he's saying horribly insensitive things...in a gleeful manner.
trinity_20: cuddly until he rolls over and crushes you
rabid1st: yeah
rabid1st: rather like Bacchus
rabid1st: We were all having fun until we woke up with that hangover
trinity_20: lol
rabid1st: yeah...microsoft is evil
rabid1st: ...like Russell
rabid1st: Actually, you've met him...he doesn't seem evil, does he?
rabid1st: He always strikes me as lovable
rabid1st: Even when he's saying horribly insensitive things...in a gleeful manner.
trinity_20: cuddly until he rolls over and crushes you
rabid1st: yeah
rabid1st: rather like Bacchus
rabid1st: We were all having fun until we woke up with that hangover
trinity_20: lol
(no subject)
Date: 2009-07-20 05:56 pm (UTC)RTD is losing the plot
Date: 2009-07-24 08:26 pm (UTC)Lisa
I don't see that he's losing the plot
Date: 2009-07-24 08:53 pm (UTC)Probably I'm too self-involved. I do question my importance in the grander scheme of things...but then again...I have said exactly what Moran claims other people said to him. And RTD stays on his incorrect assumption that tragedy is equal to drama. Maybe he is thinking of the two masks of comedy and tragedy...as comedy and drama.
I don't know. See? I have some problems here...1) that he doesn't relate the Owen and Tosh death to a pattern he's stuck in, even as he references those deaths. 2) That he seems to think a few people are upset when I counted over a thousand people at Torchwood who were appalled. 3) That he really doesn't believe losing those people matters...or that they might be reflecting a larger market of fans. 4) That he equates tragedy with drama. 5) That he believes he can simply make more magic and have people invest in it...because, one assumes, the audience will trust him again?
I would have probably killed Ianto. I wouldn't have killed Tosh and Owen first. Ianto, to me, was going to die horribly from the moment he arrived on the show. Tosh is the one I would have spared...but Tosh works from a Boy/Girl/Boy/Girl perspective. I don't know...since they knew they would be killing Steven...and I can see them going to that extreme within the story...I still can't really agree with killing Ianto as well.
But...it's a philosophy...that people must suffer or the suffering is what drama (or life) is all about. I don't know that RTD has lost the plot. I think he just might find what the Doctor did to Rose and Donna and what Jack does...to be heroic...because both the Doctor and Jack will suffer for their decisions.
Rae