I CAN'T BELIEVE I'M SAYING THIS...but...
Jul. 19th, 2009 05:03 pmIt's just a television show!
I know! I know! Hard to believe I would write those words. After all, I believe our society and its condition are reflected in our storytelling.
But, I, also, feel the writers of Torchwood: CoE can't possibly be homophobic or evil.
People have suggested lynching RTD on this blog and I've suggested giving seriously cutting feedback on the recent Torchwood Miniseries. I have also stated that I felt the writers were intentionally trying to hurt their fans.
But, then I read this blog post by one of the CoE writers:
http://jamesmoran.blogspot.com/2009/07/stepping-back.html
And I started to feel sorry for Mr. Moran, who can't believe people would say such things about him.
And I'm forced to admit that I know he's just some guy with a wordprocessor trying to fill up five nights of television.
But, perhaps, he should take the outpouring of hostility to heart. I am sure that a lot of people were writing him with praise, as he states, but some people were going out of their way to BOO! I am all for civil behavior...but when I gutted my fans in Disheveled...I accepted that some people walked away from me in fury. And I am not a writer who often disappoints the faithful, so I might have reasonably expected people to bear with me.
I am afraid I do hold RTD responsible for what I consider his irresponsible attitude toward those who are most loyal to him and his shows. Gutting people, dashing their hopes, again and again is not going to make you popular. I feel quite strongly that if a writer decides to take glee in writing things that he knows will cause his fans pain, he should expect to loss a few fans. Especially, if he KEEPS doing the same thing over and over again.
But...maybe we should all tone it back a bit and allow that, while the philosophy of CoE may leave a lot of us cold, it was one helluva thrill ride. I, for one, was riveted for four nights and came back on the fifth, even though I could sense there would be frenzied Hail, Mary solutions and blood spatter on the walls. I am disappointed in RTD, mostly because I doubt that he will surprise me at Christmas. Yes, Lisa...he still MIGHT surprise me. I'm just saying I no longer expect it.
I believe RTD's sin is one of predictable melodrama, rather than malicious intent. Yes, even though he laughs in that one confidential about how every love story should end with a Dalek shooting one of the leads. I want to believe he was kidding about that. I think Ianto dies for the same reason that Tara dies in Buffy...so that a more important character can be forced into uncharacteristic behavior. Steven dies to serve a sketchy plot, but at least there was a reason for that death. I do believe people hurt by this story should express their discontent, but I also hope that everyone remains civil to the writers, because what they do is not easy.
I know! I know! Hard to believe I would write those words. After all, I believe our society and its condition are reflected in our storytelling.
But, I, also, feel the writers of Torchwood: CoE can't possibly be homophobic or evil.
People have suggested lynching RTD on this blog and I've suggested giving seriously cutting feedback on the recent Torchwood Miniseries. I have also stated that I felt the writers were intentionally trying to hurt their fans.
But, then I read this blog post by one of the CoE writers:
http://jamesmoran.blogspot.com/2009/07/stepping-back.html
And I started to feel sorry for Mr. Moran, who can't believe people would say such things about him.
And I'm forced to admit that I know he's just some guy with a wordprocessor trying to fill up five nights of television.
But, perhaps, he should take the outpouring of hostility to heart. I am sure that a lot of people were writing him with praise, as he states, but some people were going out of their way to BOO! I am all for civil behavior...but when I gutted my fans in Disheveled...I accepted that some people walked away from me in fury. And I am not a writer who often disappoints the faithful, so I might have reasonably expected people to bear with me.
I am afraid I do hold RTD responsible for what I consider his irresponsible attitude toward those who are most loyal to him and his shows. Gutting people, dashing their hopes, again and again is not going to make you popular. I feel quite strongly that if a writer decides to take glee in writing things that he knows will cause his fans pain, he should expect to loss a few fans. Especially, if he KEEPS doing the same thing over and over again.
But...maybe we should all tone it back a bit and allow that, while the philosophy of CoE may leave a lot of us cold, it was one helluva thrill ride. I, for one, was riveted for four nights and came back on the fifth, even though I could sense there would be frenzied Hail, Mary solutions and blood spatter on the walls. I am disappointed in RTD, mostly because I doubt that he will surprise me at Christmas. Yes, Lisa...he still MIGHT surprise me. I'm just saying I no longer expect it.
I believe RTD's sin is one of predictable melodrama, rather than malicious intent. Yes, even though he laughs in that one confidential about how every love story should end with a Dalek shooting one of the leads. I want to believe he was kidding about that. I think Ianto dies for the same reason that Tara dies in Buffy...so that a more important character can be forced into uncharacteristic behavior. Steven dies to serve a sketchy plot, but at least there was a reason for that death. I do believe people hurt by this story should express their discontent, but I also hope that everyone remains civil to the writers, because what they do is not easy.
(no subject)
Date: 2009-07-19 11:19 pm (UTC)I try to keep my equilibrium.
Date: 2009-07-20 12:27 am (UTC)I really just would like RTD and other writers to do a bit better with the variety of endings and to know that happiness is no longer a cliche but a rare thing in television. Joyous, uplifting edings are not only possible but leave a better impression with the fans.
Rae
Re: I try to keep my equilibrium.
Date: 2009-07-20 02:07 am (UTC)I'd just like writers to recognize sad isn't any better or more meaningful then happy. Its simply another emotion.
Carrie
Yes...I mean...my problem with CoE
Date: 2009-07-20 03:05 am (UTC)Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2009-07-20 03:47 pm (UTC)It's not men, it's just him... it's only him
Date: 2009-07-20 04:07 pm (UTC)The Doctor doesn't romantically love all humans as default. It's not humans, it's just Rose... it's only Rose.
It is indeed, only Rose
Date: 2009-07-20 04:23 pm (UTC)It allows that...1) He doesn't go around sleeping with every companion...just Rose. 2) It's very hard on him to involve himself with companions...he has very good reasons not to allow this to happen...not unlike we all have very good reasons not to fall in love with our coworkers...or sisters-in-law. Too many painful complications. 3) Rose is going to die. So, the Doctor is going to end up alone again...naturally. :snicker: So...all we need do is remove him from the time line for a bit...and then have him return to our screens after Rose has died.
It is then established why he doesn't become involved with his companions...why he keeps them at arms length...but also...for the fun of fandoms everywhere...it is also established that there are very rare exceptions to this rule of no sex in the TARDIS. Or even...that there are NO exceptions to that rule...so another solution would have to come about...and maybe he's never going to go through this again.
What I'm saying is...RTD can establish precident without establishing a pattern. And we can all say...well...it is only Rose...and only because he was unusually vulnerable to her, perhaps...because she became the Bad Wolf for him...or because he'd lost everything else. Or because there's just something magical about Rose, as Julie Gardner puts it.
Rae
Re: It's not men, it's just him... it's only him
Date: 2009-07-20 09:11 pm (UTC)As the link suggests
Date: 2009-07-20 05:37 pm (UTC)http://angrywhofan.blogspot.com/2009/07/will-rtd-do-same-to-sarah-jane.html
Of course...I wouldn't want to associate
Date: 2009-07-20 10:29 pm (UTC)Rae
RTD homophobic
Date: 2009-07-22 05:38 pm (UTC)Yes, it does defy belief
Date: 2009-07-22 07:14 pm (UTC)I am probably more appalled by the idea presented by both Moffat and RTD that we should put our faith in some higher being...some manufactured god. I don't see how, as atheists, they reconcile themselves to the idea that humans shouldn't be allowed to make decisions about their own lives. I suppose it just goes to show that the hardwiring for a god figure is part of human genetics. RTD and Moffat simply had to create a god they could believe in...the Doctor. Then, they found nothing wrong with allowing him to be all knowing and all powerful. There is also the underlying joy in the god suffering for his actions, as well.
Both Jack and the Doctor are hurt by their directing of other people's lives...but apparently...they still have an unquestioned right to direct people. I just wish RTD would listen to his own arguments sometime as it is just as likely that Mr. Copper and Harriet Jones are right...and the Doctor allowed to play god, becomes a monster.
Rae
having little hope that RTD will give that idea more than lip service at Christmas...because he's never actually shown consequences.