Everyone come down off the ledge
May. 7th, 2009 12:36 amThis here posting contains some spoilers...and rumors of spoilers...and me being me...which usually means wrong. But still, I'm cheerful company, right? Mostly? And I believe I've saved many a fangirl from jumping in my time.
There will be Doctor Who rumor spoilers in the first comment on this post...
But before I go there...let's discuss House, MD...this post is about the last episode and is for the Wilson/House shippers out there...you know who you are!
Yeah, we want to believe it was all a dream. And maybe it was. But so what if it wasn't? I'm thinking about that Wilson/House!Psyche/Imaginary!Amber exchange more than anything else.
Wilson: You're hallucinating my dead girlfriend? Well...that raises some questions.
House!Psyche/Imaginary!Amber: It answer some questions.
And yes, indeed it does. Wilson dates the female House. Deep down inside House wants to be what Wilson desires. Yeppers! And so, there is this lovely opportunity to bond. And instead House goes for Cuddy. Why? Oh, WHY? The House/Wilson shippers wail. Also, there might have been some gnashing of teeth.
But this is not the end game. This is the middle part. The part where House is out of his mind and shags people who are strong enough to take it. House wouldn't want to break Wilson...but he knows he won't break Cuddy. They also won't wake up madly in love and start picking out china. Cuddy might end up pregnant...as the big shocker...but if she does...something will happen so I 'm not the least little bit worried. House isn't a character who can be completed by relationship...or saved by one...he's a mess. He can kick the drug habit...but that's a full season...hopefully NEXT season. And then he's got to deal with being gay in S7. And then..for the final episode...we get some confirmation that Wilson is his squeeze. But I seriously doubt that House ends on a happy, ever after note. It's just not that sort of show.
So...when I see House grab Cuddy during his detox...I see fallout, not hearts and moonbeams. It's going to get messy...but Cuddy and House will eventually work their way back to mutual tolerance and that will be that.
Rae
skipping to the comments for my DW-Spoiler remarks...just to make you extra safe...
There will be Doctor Who rumor spoilers in the first comment on this post...
But before I go there...let's discuss House, MD...this post is about the last episode and is for the Wilson/House shippers out there...you know who you are!
Yeah, we want to believe it was all a dream. And maybe it was. But so what if it wasn't? I'm thinking about that Wilson/House!Psyche/Imaginary!Amber exchange more than anything else.
Wilson: You're hallucinating my dead girlfriend? Well...that raises some questions.
House!Psyche/Imaginary!Amber: It answer some questions.
And yes, indeed it does. Wilson dates the female House. Deep down inside House wants to be what Wilson desires. Yeppers! And so, there is this lovely opportunity to bond. And instead House goes for Cuddy. Why? Oh, WHY? The House/Wilson shippers wail. Also, there might have been some gnashing of teeth.
But this is not the end game. This is the middle part. The part where House is out of his mind and shags people who are strong enough to take it. House wouldn't want to break Wilson...but he knows he won't break Cuddy. They also won't wake up madly in love and start picking out china. Cuddy might end up pregnant...as the big shocker...but if she does...something will happen so I 'm not the least little bit worried. House isn't a character who can be completed by relationship...or saved by one...he's a mess. He can kick the drug habit...but that's a full season...hopefully NEXT season. And then he's got to deal with being gay in S7. And then..for the final episode...we get some confirmation that Wilson is his squeeze. But I seriously doubt that House ends on a happy, ever after note. It's just not that sort of show.
So...when I see House grab Cuddy during his detox...I see fallout, not hearts and moonbeams. It's going to get messy...but Cuddy and House will eventually work their way back to mutual tolerance and that will be that.
Rae
skipping to the comments for my DW-Spoiler remarks...just to make you extra safe...
And now for the DW-Spoiler discussion...
Date: 2009-05-07 05:02 am (UTC)So...about those recent David Tennant filming in London spoilers that just broke......no need to go into particulars...if you follow along with this journal...and you go looking for spoilers at all...you will know the one I mean.
We will not be discussing it here...any further than to say...please remember that RTD isn't going to just waltz the entire storyline out in public and film it on the streets of London. Not after 4 years of stealth and cunning. He is probably being stealthy and cunning with his casting sides.
Above all remember THIS had to happen if the pony was going to happen. It's great news for our side...not bitter dregs. So...let's not go out of the ledge over what everyone else is assuming...let's assume WE are the ones who are right this time.
And just to bolster that belief in our rightness...I will tell you all...I was listening to the commentary for Stolen Earth...and in it RTD and DT and JG...discuss Blue being Eleven. DT takes the fanboy leap that I said would be made...that they've used a regeneration. And then, RTD, bless him, goes right where I would go...to, "Oh, do you mean BLUE is Eleven?" David was not thinking that...but I bet RTD started to think it about then. Julie, of course, immediately changes the subject and starts teasing David...but the foundation was laid for the real solution right at that moment. Switch bodies...and Eleven is where he belongs...and Ten can go home to Rose.
I'm just saying. :grin:
Rae
Re: And now for the DW-Spoiler discussion...
Date: 2009-05-07 05:07 am (UTC)Re: And now for the DW-Spoiler discussion...
Date: 2009-05-07 06:23 am (UTC)*head desk*
Re: And now for the DW-Spoiler discussion...
Date: 2009-05-07 08:58 am (UTC)Agreed.
Also that would make Matt Smith actually Twelve and I really want to see the Doctor battle the Valeyard! (The Valeyard is supposed to appear during Twelve's time, right?) I know I'm a dork.
The Valeyard is supposed to appear...
Date: 2009-05-07 01:05 pm (UTC)And really I think the idea of Ten 2 is very much in line with the Valeyard. And also with a Moffat vision...because he did have that remote, old person in a young body attitude. I really liked the way David distinguishes Ten 2 in those few scenes in JE. Ten 2 does not strike me as a man out of control...the way Ten strikes me.
Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2009-05-07 05:58 am (UTC)And as for the DW Stolen Earth commentary... I caught that bit of conversation they shared only about a month ago and I jumped up and down for a bit smiling like a loony. Here's hoping that little blue seed grew into a full-fledged plot development for these upcoming specials! :)
(no subject)
Date: 2009-05-07 08:55 am (UTC)I hope so!
(no subject)
Date: 2009-05-07 01:01 pm (UTC)As for the other...as always, I just wait and see what RTD has in store.
And see...that's the thing with House...
Date: 2009-05-07 01:16 pm (UTC)I think the Cuddy/House attraction is that people enjoy them being equals in the sparring department...and secretly always wanting to kiss one another...so those folks are going to love this messy, sexy stuff.
And we Wilson/House people...we know that it's repressed. We are content that they truly need one another...and are open to one another. But an open, vulnerable House...is definitely a man with a different show. So, House/Wilson has to be an end game strategy. I know some of my fellow House/Wilson shippers hope for wild sex...and some really wish the show would go openly gay. I sort of wish the latter but only because I am a raging liberal. Truthfully, I think Wilson has the best chance of putting a smile on House's face. And House doesn't deserve a smile...yet!
Compare this with Ten/Rose...btw...and you can see why I ship as I do. Most people just ride the same happy, ever after...or never, ever happy horse. But with me...I ship what the characters truly need to grow as people. Ten really needs Rose. They are both well adjusted people who together, are more complete, more fulfilled...and who suffer when apart. House really needs to kick his drug addiction and learn to be happy. He's not suffering because he doesn't have Wilson...or Cuddy or Cameron...in his life. And having any one of them at this juncture...would only lead to conflict.
Rae
Re: And see...that's the thing with House...
Date: 2009-05-07 09:22 pm (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2009-05-08 04:33 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2009-05-08 05:23 am (UTC)Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2009-05-08 05:30 am (UTC)You should be able to find it there.
(no subject)
Date: 2009-05-08 06:04 am (UTC)Of course, now I must try my best not to click for more info than I can come across accidentally. I figure...if RTD and company lets it hit the press...it is no longer an official spoiler. I suppose that is spliting hairs...but I really don't like these people who have the scripts smuggled out to them specifically to ruin all the hard work RTD does.
Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2009-05-08 08:47 am (UTC)I agree. I also haven't been reading any spoilers unless I accidently run across them (which is fortunately and sadly it kind of takes the surprise out of everything).