SYTYCD? Results Show
Jun. 19th, 2008 10:03 pmI'm tucking this under a cut so I won't spoil the West Coast People.
Well, Suzie...absolutely. Her routine was completely lackluster. I didn't think a lot of Comfort's routine either, but she was miles better than Suzie and she did indeed rock the opening number.
Marquis, however, I just don't get. I mean, yes, I did think he was pretty wretched in the show...but I thought he was marvelous in his solo. He really woke me up and made me pay attention and I completely agree with the booing. I felt the pale, insipid guy should go and let Comfort and Marquis give it a try. Thayne didn't really wow me but he did have lovely extension and elegant lines.
Scratching my head in puzzled confusion and frankly wondering if Marquis just wasn't telegenic enough for this lot. Of course, I am sort of bored to tears by contemporary dancers so maybe I was only interested in him because he "did a lot of tricks." Carrie? What did you think?
Rae
Well, Suzie...absolutely. Her routine was completely lackluster. I didn't think a lot of Comfort's routine either, but she was miles better than Suzie and she did indeed rock the opening number.
Marquis, however, I just don't get. I mean, yes, I did think he was pretty wretched in the show...but I thought he was marvelous in his solo. He really woke me up and made me pay attention and I completely agree with the booing. I felt the pale, insipid guy should go and let Comfort and Marquis give it a try. Thayne didn't really wow me but he did have lovely extension and elegant lines.
Scratching my head in puzzled confusion and frankly wondering if Marquis just wasn't telegenic enough for this lot. Of course, I am sort of bored to tears by contemporary dancers so maybe I was only interested in him because he "did a lot of tricks." Carrie? What did you think?
Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2008-06-20 02:39 am (UTC)Blah. I'm just so bored by this season for some reason. I'm not attached to anyone but Mark/Chelsea and Courtney/Gev. I miss my first true love...Season Two.
(no subject)
Date: 2008-06-20 10:21 am (UTC)Comfort's partner (Chris?) got the short end of the stick this week, I thought. He is SUCH a white boy, and clearly not a hip hop dancer, but I didn't think he did so bad at it. He really worked hard, and he looked pretty good (to everyone but Nigel). Of course, I bet a lot of that is owed to Comfort, so points to her. If they can continue to teach each other throughout the show, they might be a force.
(no subject)
Date: 2008-06-20 12:16 pm (UTC)Still, I do agree that he did a fairly respectable job on the routine they were asked to do this week. I just thought his solo was the weakest. And I thought Comfort and Marquis might have stood a better chance together in the long run.
I like Comfort and I want to see her get a real shot...but I'm not sure she will rise to the occasion in anything other than her own style.
Suzie? Happy to see her go. I was really shocked that she made it when the marvelous girl with the choreographer mum was cut in Vegas. I mean, I had to wonder if Nigel felt the pressure of her mum and didn't want to rock the boat on his own reputation or that of his show/judges by casting someone with a such a well respected relative.
I mean, obviously, Nigel is a heck of a producer...with this and American Idol under his belt...but I wonder if he was a force to be reckoned with in dance before this show. Certainly he talks a good game, but I don't know enough about the fairly insulated world of dance to know if his opinion really had any intrinsic value.
Rae
(no subject)
Date: 2008-06-21 02:58 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-06-21 02:59 am (UTC)(no subject)
Date: 2008-06-21 04:54 am (UTC)